Naïssam Jalal

These imaginary healing rituals address the three imperatives of a suffering body: silence, trance and beauty. Silence for calm, cooling down and contemplation. Trance to forget pain and anxiety. Beauty that the spirit needs to feed itself in order to find hope and the desire to live in front of the ugliness of a suffering body.

Healing Rituals is a quartet close to « chamber music » that embodies the modernity of these rituals. And yet they are in line with healing rituals from ancestral and often animistic traditions that inspired me to compose them.

Naïssam Jalal : flute, singing, nay, composer
Claude Tchamitchian : double bass
Clément Petit : cello
Zaza Desiderio : drums